Blog Tour: The Woman With Wings

Alison Spedding is a loner; no real friends, no boyfriend and a job in which she goes unnoticed.
At 32, her only passion is birdwatching. That is until one afternoon, high on a Scottish mountain, Alison experiences something that causes her grip on reality to slip. As her mind begins to spiral towards breaking point, her infatuated colleague, Jed, is concerned. Can he intervene before Alison finally loses control?
The Woman with Wings explores one woman’s identity whilst posing universal questions: Who is she? Where does she belong? And must she accept her lot, or can she spread her wings and be free at last?

I received a free digital copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

This was such a well written book. I really love MacManus’ writing style. It is so very clean and descriptive. I loved that this was a story about a woman finding herself and where she belongs. I really just couldn’t put this book down. 

I really felt like I resonated with Alison. I am also a single woman in her thirties who enjoys her own company and loves birds. This part of the book made me chuckle and feel like this was the book for me as I have 14 birds of my own!

My only real complaint with this book is the why. Why was a story like this written? I enjoyed it a lot but I felt it did not have a direction as to why it was written.  I will say it is a very character driven novel. 

The cover of this book is absolutely stunning. It was what drew me into this book. Overall, this was a great read. Thank you to the publisher, the author, and NetGalley for allowing me to review this title.  Click here to order your copy today!

Image and synopsis taken from NetGalley.

Book Tour: A View Across The Rooftops

1941, Nazi-occupied AmsterdamAn unforgettable story of love, hope and betrayal, and a testament to the courage of humanity in history’s darkest days. 

University professor Josef Held has never recovered from the loss of his beloved wife – and has no intention of ever letting anyone new into his quiet, safe world. It is a world where the clock ticks steadily in his mathematics classroom, even as the sinister beat of Nazi soldiers’ boots threaten to drown it out.

Terrified, Josef tries to keep his eyes on the ground as Jews across the city are forced into ghettos. But then Michael Blum, his most reluctant, infuriating pupil, tells Josef Jews like him will no longer be allowed to study at all. Josef can ignore the situation no longer. And, after the shock of seeing his neighbour killed on his own doorstep, he offers Michael a place to hide in an impulsive act of courage.

Michael is everything Josef is not: spontaneous, poetic, and unafraid to love. Even though his passionate relationship with a Dutch girl is strictly forbidden – for he is Jewish, and she is not. Somehow, in the quiet gloom of the attic, Josef doesn’t mind things about Michael that annoyed him in the classroom, and a bond begins to grow.

Remembering the pain of his own heartbreak, Josef is desperate to give Michael and his girlfriend a chance. He must go on as if nothing has changed: teaching his class, bowing to the Nazis. Beneath the fear, a thrill of defiance begins to bloom. But then Michael becomes perilously ill, and there is no way to get him the help he desperately needs.

As the dark days of war continue, with danger and betrayal at every turn, no-one can be trusted. If Michael is to survive and get back to the woman he loves, it will be down to Josef – to find the hero inside himself, and do whatever it takes to keep Michael alive. Even if it means putting his own life on the line.

A heartbreakingly beautiful story about love, trust, and courage against the odds, perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Lilac Girls, and The Nightingale.  


I received a digital advanced reader copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This book is an edge of your seat page turner. It really lives up to its description of a heart wrenching story. 

It is full of love, hope, determination and survival. It really left me questioning if I would have survived or not. 

One big piece of advice I will give you if you decide to pick up this title is read the author notes! They add soo much depth to this story. 

I genuinely enjoyed this book and I am honored to be a part of this book review. It was beautifully written and just full of raw emotions. 

A View Across Rooftops is incredibly wonderful but heart wrenching read. The characters are well written and the book was overall interesting from page one. I would highly recommend this to any historical buff.

I rated this book a total 5 (would have been more if I could) for the fact that it was just an absolute page turner. I felt so connected to the characters and their stories that I almost forgot this was fiction.

Please make sure you check out the other bloggers on this book tour! They have done some absolutely amazing reviews that you should definitely read!

Suzanne Kelman is a 2015 Academy of Motion Pictures Nicholl Finalist, Multi-Award-Winning Screenwriter and a Film Producer. As well as working in film she is also an International Amazon Bestselling Fiction Author of the Southlea Bay Series – The Rejected Writers’ Book Club, Rejected Writers Take the Stage and The Rejected Writers’ Christmas Wedding. Born in the United Kingdom, she now resides in Washington State